Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation


Jr/Sr High Athletics


Ajax Loading Image


State JH Cross Country Results

Wayne Junior High Blue Devil Cross Country team had strong representation at the Junior High State Cross Country meet held at Papillion-LaVista South's Walnut Creek Course on Saturday, October 9th. Between the boys and girls teams, they brought home five medals. 

Reagan McGuire earned a 16th place medal with the time of 13:23. Lilyan Hurner earned a 20th place medal with the time of 13:40. Josie Ley, 45th, Sophia Spieker 95th, and Sharon Vasquez, 114th, helped the girls team earn 4th place out of 12 teams and 164 total runners. 

Drew Miller was the overall Champion with a time of 11:07. Drew led the race from start to finish. When asked what he was thinking throughout the race, Drew stated, "I just kept thinking that I wasn't going to let anyone pass me." Drew has the 2nd best time in the Open Race since 2012 when the Junior High State Cross Country meet began. Drew is also the second Wayne boys Open Race Champion. Jesus Zavala was the Open Race Champion in 2019 with a time of 11:13. Emmanuel Gonzales earned an 11th place medal with a time of 11:50. Boden Dobbins earned a 17th place medal with a time of 12:03. Lance Brink, 87th, and Payton Junck, 121st, helped the boys team 

Coach Courtney Maas said, "It was an amazing day to run with it being only 77 degrees with a slight breeze. These kids came to compete and showed what they are capable of. We are just so proud of the effort they showed and the representation they have given Wayne Blue Devils." Coach Terry Beair stated, "The atmosphere of this meet is so exciting. There were over 1,100 participants in the meet today. These runners ran very well. It was a lot of fun to watch."


Girls Times (3,000 meters):

Reagan McGuire, 16th, 13:23

Lilyan Hurner, 21st, 13:40

Josie Ley, 45th, 14:36

Sophia Spieker, 95th, 15:55

Sharon Vasquez, 114th, 16:46

Team: 4th with 135 points/12 teams


Boys Times (3,000 meters):

Drew Miller, 1st, 11:06

Emmanuel Gonzales, 11th, 11:50

Boden Dobbins, 17th, 12:03

Lance Brink, 87th, 13:34 

Payton Junck, 121st, 14:17

Team: 5th with 149 points/20 teams