Click to Home

Go To Search
Click to Home
American School Counselor Association National Standards

The American School Counselor Association outlines three broad domains that promote mindsets and behaviors that enhance the learning process and create a culture of college and career readiness for all students, K-8. These domains and standards serve as guidelines for the K-8 School Counseling Program. The three domains are:

Academic Development – Standards guiding school counseling programs to implement strategies and activities to support and maximize each student’s ability to learn.

Career Development – Standards guiding school counseling programs to help students 1) understand the connection between school and the world of work and 2) plan for and make a successful transition from school to postsecondary education and/or the world of work and from job to job across the life span.

Social/Emotional Development – Standards guiding school counseling programs to help students manage emotions and learn and apply interpersonal skills. This is the main emphasis of the K-6 Classroom Counseling Program and the small group classes that are offered to students who need additional practice in these skills. The Counseling Program provides direct instruction in the skills that are necessary to understand and manage emotions, feel and show empathy for others, establish and maintain positive relationships, and make responsible decisions. Self-management and interpersonal skills are crucial to academic learning and career success. Students learn communication skills that assist them in meeting their needs, forming relationships, resolving conflicts and working cooperatively with others.

Home  |  Calendar  |  Contact Us  |  Translate  |  Accessibility   |  Site Map  |  Wind PoweredWind Powered   |  Copyright Notice   |  Powered by CivicPlus
Facebook Twitter